Skip navigation
Print this page

Energy efficiency

The Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) has increased the energy efficiency provisions in the 2010 edition of the Building Codes of Australia (BCA).

Briefly, this requires:

  • a 6 star energy rating for all residential buildings and
  • a significant increase in energy efficiency requirements for all new commercial buildings.

Building Industry Development Western Australia has developed a series of check sheets that can be used to verify compliance with the Acceptable Construction Practices currently detailed in the BCA.

Energy efficiency climate zone maps

The BCA Deemed-to-Satisfy energy efficiency provisions are structured around eight different climate zones, which are based on climatic data with some adjustment made for local government boundaries and other considerations.

The BCA requirements for each zone vary depending upon the various climate characteristics applicable.

The climate change map allows you to view local government names and boundaries.

You must have Flash Player 8 or higher installed, and JavaScript enabled in your browser, to view this web site. Get Flash Player.
Register Click to register Networks View the social networks page
City of Fremantle
Currently displaying ActiveFreo events only.
Please use filters below to customise your calendar.
Close the calendar
Search or filter events:
Search calendar
Filter in current view
Go! | Reset Calendar
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
City of Fremantle
Close content Pin
Content is loading
Loading page...
Scroll up Scroll down