25under25 art award

View the catalogue for the 2017 Art Award here.

The First Prize was awarded to Chris Hyland, and Holly O'Meehan was awarded the Highly Commended. The judge's commendations also recognised the great artworks of Tessa Beale, April Nulgit, Ava Gamblin and Kieran MacFarlane.

Chris Hyland, Fog I & II, photographic prints

Holly O'Meehan, Functionless Vessels, glazed ceramic, cotton, jute and embroidery thread.

Congratulations to the 25 finalists – Amy-Lee Wong, April Nulgit, ArtByRow, Ashley Maroney, Ava Gamblin, Ben Hollingsworth, Brendan Lewis, Chris Bawden, Chris Hyland, Colin Smith, Devan Job, Erica Watkin, Erica Clarke, Greg Hyde & Ezio Lawalata, Holly O'Meehan, Jessica Whiteman, Jubilee Chan, Kieran MacFarlane, Lachlan Waterhouse, M, Miles Bettis, Sarah Gatti, Shannon Marlborough, Tessa Beale, and Tsyon Feleke.

The exhibition is open daily from 10am – 4pm until Sunday 23 July, at the Moore Building Contemporary Art Gallery, 46 Henry St Fremantle.

For questions about the award or entry process please contact the coordinator Tom Freeman on 0407 814 507 or tomf@fremantle.wa.gov.au

Entry requirements
The award is open to all West Australian artists aged between 14 and 25 years, as at the date of the exhibition opening – 14 July 2017 (born between 15 July 1991 – 14 July 2003).

There is no charge to enter this award, and entry is limited to one per person. Artworks entered can be any art form and aren’t limited by sizes or materials, however any special equipment needed to display an artwork must be supplied by the artist.
Insurance is the responsibility of the entrant. Whilst all care is taken when storing and exhibiting works, the City of Fremantle accepts no responsibility for any loss or damage that may inadvertently occur.

There are two main prizes for the 25 under 25 Art Award; a first prize of $1500 cash with a Fremantle Arts Centre artist residency, and a $500 judges’ commendation prize with a portfolio mentorship session with Fremantle Arts Centre’s curator Ric Spencer. A people’s choice award will also be given to the artwork with the most votes. Artworks can be sold through the exhibition at the discretion of the artists. No commission is taken on sales.

Collection of artworks
Entries must be collected from the Moores Building Contemporary Art Gallery on Monday July 24 from 10.00 am-5.00 pm.

View the 2016 catalogue here.

This year's first prize of $1500 cash with a Fremantle Arts Centre residency was awarded to Lizzy Joyce.
The highly commended award of $500 cash with a portfolio mentorship with Fremantle Arts Centre's curator was won by Eloise Coomber.
The people's choice award winner was Lara Sawyer with her painting "The Decaying Kind".

Lizzy Joyce, Down Down Bilbys Are Down, cardboard packaging

Eloise Coomber, Evening Feast, photographic prints

Congratulations to the 25 finalists – Tom Ansell, Megan Baker, Kalem Bateman, Tessa Beale, Elizabeth Bills, Megan Bouwer, Jack Caddy, Eloise Coomber, Isabella Speed, Brindy Donovan, Brent Harrison, Yusef Hourani, Anthony Iacomella, Bronte Jones, Clara Joyce, Lizzy Joyce, Zoe Lutze, Matthew McAlpine, Indi Middleton, Sophie Nixon, Neisha Phipps, Ryck Rudd, Lara Sawyer, Jaidip Singh and Zoe Thomson.

View the catalogue here.

Best Overall Award 2015

Pascale Giorgi, Make yourself at home, sculpture.

Highly Commended Award 2015

Shannon McCullough, We used to play ping pong, oil paint on board

Contact us

City of Fremantle
Town Hall Centre
8 William Street
T 08 9432 9999
F 08 9430 4634
TTY 08 9432 9777