About | City of Fremantle

Top Menu


Find on this page:


Every two years in October, the Fremantle community elects one councillor for each of the City's six wards - North, South, East, City, Hilton and Beaconsfield.

The mayor is elected by the combined electorate of all wards. The mayor and councillors are elected for a four year term. Together the elected members make up council, and act as a community board representing community interests at council and committee meetings.

The City of Fremantle Council has 13 elected members - 12 councillors and the mayor.

Useful documents

Council members committee members and candidates code of conduct
Fremantle ward map
Local Government Act
Meeting procedures policy

Useful links

International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives
Mayors for Peace
Southern Metropolitan Regional Council
South West Group
Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries
Western Australian Electoral Commission

Vertical Tabs