Your council

Every two years in October, the Fremantle community elects one councillor for each of the City's six wards - North, South, East, City, Hilton and Beaconsfield.

The mayor is elected by the combined electorate of all wards. The mayor and councillors are elected for a four year term. Together the elected members make up council, and act as a community board representing community interests at council and committee meetings.

The City of Fremantle Council has 13 elected members - 12 councillors and the mayor.

Browse this section

Contact us

City of Fremantle
Fremantle Oval
70 Parry Street
T 08 9432 9999
F 08 9430 4634
TTY 08 9432 9777

Useful documents

Code of conduct for elected members
Fremantle ward map
Local Government Act
Meeting procedures policy

Useful links

International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives
Mayor's blog
Mayors for Peace
Southern Metropolitan Regional Council
South West Group
Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries
Western Australian Electoral Commission


Vertical Tabs