Local government elections

The City of Fremantle Council is comprised of 13 Elected Members, 12 Councillors and a Mayor. These Elected Members represent six wards. Each Ward is represented by two Councillors.

Local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. The next election will be held on Saturday 19 October 2019. At each biennial election half of the seats on the City of Fremantle Council will become vacant.

A Mayoral election is held every four years. The Mayor was re-elected in October 2017 for a four year term so there will be Mayoral election in October 2021.

The Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) will conduct a postal election on behalf of the City of Fremantle.  Postal voting is convenient and easy.

The packages are delivered to your letterbox and all you have to do is complete the ballot paper, sign the declaration and post it back to the WAEC in the prepaid envelope supplied.

The packages can also be hand delivered and placed in a sealed ballot box available at a location to be announced in Fremantle up until 6pm on election day.

The count commences at 6pm on election day and the results are normally available later that evening.

More information

How to vote in an election
How to become an Elected Member
Disclosures of electoral gifts
Electoral activities and signage

Contact us

City of Fremantle
Fremantle Oval
70 Parry Street
T 08 9432 9999
F 08 9430 4634
TTY 08 9432 9777