Local government elections | City of Fremantle

Local government elections


The City of Fremantle Council has 13 Elected Members, which is made up of a mayor, who is the leader of the council, and 12 councillors. Each councillor represents one of the City’s six wards, with each Ward represented by two councillors.

Local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. The next election will be held in 2021. At each election half of the seats on the City of Fremantle Council become vacant.

The City’s Mayor Brad Pettitt was elected in October 2017 for a four year term. His term will expire in October 2021 when the next mayoral election will be held.

More information

How to vote in an election
How to become an Elected Member
Disclosures of electoral gifts
Electoral activities and signage

Contact us

City of Fremantle
Fremantle Oval
70 Parry Street
T 1300 MYFREO (1300 693 736)
F 08 9430 4634
TTY 08 9432 9777


Vertical Tabs